Cheers; To New Friends, and Unexpected Memories

Last night I was once again given the beautiful lesson that not everything needs to go the way you planned it to be amazing, all you need is wonderful people and good spirits to have an extraordinary night

“Pleasure to me is wonder—the unexplored, the unexpected, the thing that is hidden and the changeless thing that lurks behind superficial mutability. To trace the remote in the immediate; the eternal in the ephemeral; the past in the present; the infinite in the finite; these are to me the springs of delight and beauty.     – H.P. Lovecraft

So my hall had an event called GYRAD last night, which stands for “Get your roommate a date”. Every one was expected to meet up with their dates around 5:30, then find their way over to an Ice rink in a nearby town. Unexpectedly, as my group of about 10-15 friends were getting ready to leave, 2 out of the 3 cars we were going to take had car issues, both of their batteries died. BOTH of them! Although it wasn’t ideal that this happened, not a single person in our group became discouraged or mentioned canceling the entire night, rather my group made new plans!

Instead of going ice skating, we made a group decision to walk to Chick-fil-a, then see a movie! To most people this may sound extremely silly, but when you’re surrounded by warm spirited people the simplest of plans are still filled with fun and laughter. And thats exactly what happened! We laughed the entire night and made it a blast! We even ended up seeing Big Hero 6, a pixar movie, which might I add was amazing! Don’t let anyone say differently.

Let me tell you about my date; Taylor, my roommate, did something particularly thoughtful for me as she was picking out who my date would be. Instead of simply picking someone who she liked and thought I would hit it off with, she remembered a comment I made about a specific guy who reminded me of my two guy best friends back home, then she asked him to be my date! Thankfully he said yes because it was phenomenal to hangout with someone that reminded me of home, and hopefully to start becoming friends with this amazing guy! Honestly, I could not imagine having that much fun with anyone else other than him last night.

So cheers, to new friends, and unexpected memories. May many more come our way!

Leave a Reply

