As I arrived in my dorm room today after class, I fell in to the habitual routine I have acquired here. I sat down at my desk, opened my laptop, and went on Facebook. It seems as though no matter how busy my day is, I never feel at ease until I log onto Facebook and check on my closest friends back home. But today was different, when I first opened Facebook, the inside APU blog popped up on my timeline. Soon enough I found myself scrolling through it. In doing so, I felt this force pushing me to finally log in to my blog, and type some words onto this virtual paper we have here…

In all honesty, from the day I arrived at APU to now, I have logged into my blog countless times. Though every time I did, I seemed to start typing about what had been going on, or the topics God had been placed on my heart, then I would just stop. Thoughts swarmed my mind, chaining themselves on to me, they dragged me to a place that convinced me; my words didn’t matter, or that no one would read it. My thoughts were a main factor in why I never blogged, but they weren’t the only one. Every since I got here at APU it has seemed as if it was a separate life, or a foreign world from the one back home. I was never, and still am not, convinced that this is the life I am living. Being at APU feels like a dream, I have been here for 2 1/2 months and reality still has not hit me. And I am still working out the question in my mind, is this a good or bad thing?

Since I have been at APU I have meet a lot of sincere hearted people and have been introduced to many amazing opportunities. The people on my hall will lift you up when your down, grieve with you in your failures, and celebrate enormously in your accomplishments. Being surrounded by such supportive people has given me the confidence to try new things, adventure, and put my self out there in ways I have never experienced before, because no matter the result I have people right behind me cheering me on, but also prepared to catch me in the chance that I fall. Within the people on my hall I have managed to make friendships that I hope will last a lifetime. (like everyone tells me they will) The girls I have trusted as my true close friends constantly push me to step out of my comfort zone, and challenge me to be a better student as well. I am already dreading being separated from them for an entire month during winter break!

“Let me tell ya. You gotta pay attention to signs. When life reaches out with a moment like this it’s a sin if you don’t reach back… I’m telling you.” // The Silver Linings Playbook

The second week I was here, I spoke with a group of people and somewhere within the conversation the movie The Silver Linings Playbook was mentioned, so I went and watched it! For some reason when I watched it this quotes stood out to me. I mean, this is so relevant to many moments that reveal themselves to us in life. So with this in mind, I have been attempting to take every opportunity that has showed up at my door. Let me just say; Not all of them have been successful, or enjoyable, but all of them have resulted in a new understanding or sense of knowledge making it all rewarding in the end. There have been awkward hours spent in strangers dorm rooms, attempts to make conversations only to be ignored, missed deadlines because of an outing, complete embarrassment, and moments when I was turned down. But within all that there are memories I will hold onto forever, the discovering of people who remind me of home, a new found confidence, and belly aching laughter with friends. And with in the time I have been here I have been to Venice beach, Huntington beach, been in a beach volleyball tournament, hall events, and many more. I am overly blessed for all the opportunities that have come knocking at my door and I am looking forward to the many that are coming soon. Soon I get to go to a 50’s themed birthday party, and go on a GYRAD date with a nice guy who reminds me of my two best guy friends back home. 


Here are some of the opportunities I have gotten to be apart of.

Venice Beach; Within the first couple weeks of being here I met up with Chelsey and traveled to Venice beach. Boy oh boy was this a different place. It was the most diverse place I had ever been. From booths of many different items, to people from all over the world, and street shows to top it off. It was a much needed day of escape from the transition of APU, and a much needed reminder of home. After much money spent, and delicious meals eaten, Chelsey and I traveled home with an exhausting laughter filled day under our belts, a dread in our hair, and henna tattoos on our arms.

IMG_2669  IMG_2687

Huntington beach; As you all probably know Huntington is a well known beach in La, and it is a cool place to walk around and such! SOO Ive been there 3 times in the past 2 1/2 months I’ve been here. I cannot explain to you how much I love this place. There is a Banzai bowl store, an amazing thrift shop, and of course the ocean!  I cannot wait to go back and make some more memories there!

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset IMG_2699

Beach Volley Ball Tournament; Even though I have never played volleyball before I decided to try something new! Surprisingly Im not as bad as I thought I would be! And I had a blast! Though we didn’t make it that far in the tournament, every time we won was so exhilarating! A title of champions may have not come out of this, but new friends and a love for beach volleyball has rooted.

Volly
Kiss my Ace

Hall Events; Here are some of the amazing things Ive gotten to do!

IMG_2691 IMG_6145

IMG_2515 IMG_2606

The Breakfast Club

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetIMG_3002


Leave a Reply

